Mayor & City Council

Plano is governed by the Council-Manager form of government where the Council sets City policy and the Manager is responsible for City operations. The City Council consists of the Mayor and seven City Council members, all of whom are elected at-large.

There are eight Council places in the City of Plano which includes the place of Mayor. All Council members run and serve at large which means that all Council Members represent the entire City and likewise the entire City may vote for all eight places as they come due regardless of where they may reside in the City. Each Council Member serves a four-year term and all members are limited to no more than two consecutive terms.

City Council term chart updated July 2020

Of the eight Council Places, candidates running and serving in places one, two, three, and four must reside in that district. View the map identifying the districts. Residing in the first four districts is the only distinction separating Council Members in places one through four from places five through eight.

View the council district map.

The Office of the Mayor and City Council works diligently to guide city staff to achieve Plano’s mission as a regional and national municipal leader, providing outstanding services and facilities through cooperative efforts that engage our citizens and that contribute to the quality of life in our community.

City Council Meetings

The Plano City Council meets the second and fourth Monday of each month with executive session beginning at 5 p.m., immediately followed by preliminary open meeting, and the regular meeting at 7 p.m. During the month of July, Council meeting dates are revised.

Plano Municipal Center
Senator Florence Shapiro Council Chamber
1520 K Avenue
Plano, Texas 75074

Access Plano City Council agendas and minutes